Swimming & Diving set records, women have best finish since ’07


University Relations

The Baldwin Wallace men and women’s swimming and diving teams put on a historic display at the OAC championships. The women’s team broke multiple records and took third overall, their best finish since 2007.

OAC honors are earned by placing in the top three of the events. Sophomore diver Elie Clymer earned All-OAC honors on the 1-meter dive.

On day two of the championships, Erika Nockengost, Marissa Kural, Olivia Jacob, and Jordyn Miller broke the school record in the 800-freestlye relay with a time of 7:55.16. Following that performance, on the third day of the tournament Nockengost, Kural, Miller, and Allie Thorson broke the 400-yard freestyle record with a time of 3:38.80.

Jacob also went on to break the 1,650-freestyle record by swimming a time of 18:00.65. Sophomore diver Evan Rinaldi earned his second All-OAC honors in the 1-meter dive putting up a career best performance.

On day one, the men’s 400-yard medley relay team of Michael Moesch, Tyler Thompson, Greg Shaw and Austin Lockhart broke the school record swimming 3:30.32. On the final night, sophomore swimmer Lockhart broke the 200-yard fly school record with a time of 1:58.85.

All-American swimmer Thompson made history winning the 100-breaststroke for a third straight year, making him only the third OAC swimmer to win three straight breaststroke titles.

The men finished fourth overall and achieved their highest point total in 10 years. When asked how she thought the championships went, Head Coach Laura Demaline said, “I think they went great. We had our best finish by the women’s team since 2007 and our highest points total scored by our men’s team in 10 years, I think that’s pretty good.”

Thompson is looking to go to his third straight NCAA Division III National Championship. On what he wanted to accomplish if he did qualify for nationals, Thompson said, “I want to race and see what happens and enjoy my last swim as a yellow jacket.

The NCAA Division III National Championship will be held on March 14-18 at IUPUI Natatorium in Indianapolis, Indiana.